Join us on Join our linkedIn group!


2009 Hertfordshire Business Awards

Host Bill Turnball and Ex-Pan's Peaople dancer Babs Powell
Host Bill Turnball and Trust
ambassador, Ex-Pan's Peaople
dancer Babs Powell.

THE stars came out for the 2009 Hertfordshire Business Awards at Knebworth Barns this week.

More than 400 guests descended on Knebworth Barns at Knebworth House on Thursday, for the 13th annual awards organised by Archant Herts and Cambs.

Following a Champagne reception, guests were welcomed by the managing director of Archant Herts and Cambs, Stuart McCreery.

Mr McCreery said: "It was a most enjoyable evening and I believe the recognition given to finalists and winners was well deserved. Our entertainer and host were warmly welcomed and the venue did us proud.

I would like to thank everyone for their charitable donations on the night and hope that they will support the event to the same level next year.

"It was a glittering occasion and a fitting tribute to the continuing success of Hertfordshire businesses.

"It is an occasion where hard work, initiative, imagination and entrepreneurial spirit can be recognised and rewarded.

"A personal thanks from me to the Archant Herts and Cambs team which organised the event, the judges and sponsors, all those who submitted entries and, of course, many congratulations to those who made the shortlist and the eventual winners."

Television presenter and news anchorman Bill Turnbull presented the awards, with entertainment from the excellent and inspirational spinto tenor Gari Glaysher, who has just released his debut album, Serenata.

The night raised more than £2,000 for the Prince's Trust, which helps young people through training, skill building outside school.

Trust ambassador, ex-Pan's People dancer Babs Powell, wife of actor Robert Powell, was at the ceremony.

 

Role of Honour

 

Small Business

WINNER: ANLP International CIC - www.anlp.org

Other Finalists:

Cleanwise Training & Management Ltd - www.cleanerthinking.com

Earthware Ltd - www.earthware.co.uk

Sports Xtra Ltd - www.sports-xtra.com

Propeller Studios Ltd - www.propeller-studios.co.uk

 

Business in the Community

WINNER: Stevenage Leisure LTD - www.stevenage-leisure.co.uk

Other Finalists:

The Letchworth Arts Centre - www.letchwortharts.org

Altro LTD - www.altro.com

National Assocaition for Colitis & Crohn's Disease - www.nacc.org.uk

Levy Associates Ltd - www.levynet.co.uk

 

Business Person

WINNER: Richard Driscoll - National Assocaition for Colitis & Crohn's Disease - www.nacc.org.uk

Other Finalists:

Emmanuel Cohen - The Raymond Morris Group Limited - www.rmoline.com

Darren Smith - DS Ducts - www.dsductsweb.co.uk

Paul Boulter - Codestrata - www.ikoneymedia.com/codestrata

 

New Business

WINNER: SoccerTastic - www.soccertastic.co.uk

Other Finalists:

Blackbird Communications - www.blackbirdcommunications.co.uk

Wildchild Activities - www.wildchildactivities.com

Appydays Ltd - www.appydays.net

Cariad Marketing - www.cariadmarketing.com

 

Creative Innovation

WINNER: Altro LTD - Autoglym - www.autoglym.com

Other Finalists:

Fingerprint Jewellery Ltd - www.fingerprint-jewellery.co.uk

Recovery In Sight - www.recoveryin-sight.com

 

Best Business Website

WINNER: MotivAction - www.motivaction.co.uk

Other Finalists:

Curo Care - www.curocare.co.uk

Fingerprint Jewellery Ltd - www.fingerprint-jewellery.co.uk

Buy LOCAL.net Hertfordshire - www.buylocal.net

PoGo Ltd - www.pogopack.co.uk

 

Training and Development

WINNER: John O'Conner Ground Maintenance - www.johnoconner.co.uk

Other Finalists:

Turners Cleaning & Support Services - www.turnerscleaning.co.uk

Personnel Care Bank - www.personnelcarebank.co.uk

Epitome Health & Beauty - 0208 420 4060

Saks Hair & Beauty - WGC - www.saks.co.uk

 

Large Business

WINNER: Turners Cleaning & Support Services - www.turnerscleaning.co.uk

Other Finalists:

Willows Farm Village - www.willowsfarmvillage.com

 

Medium Business

WINNER: Fire Fighting Enterprises Ltd - www.ffeuk.com

Other Finalists:

The GOL Group - www.thegolgroup.co.uk

The Clipso Salon Group - www.clipso.co.uk

The Galleria - www.thegalleria.co.uk

Fanhams Hall Hotel - www.ehvenues.com

 

Young Business Person

WINNER: Gemma Newcombe - Saks Hair & Beauty, WGC

Other Finalists:

Natahsa Kirby - Boys and Girls Nursery Ltd - www.boysandgirlsnursery.com

Nathan Ghann - University of Hertfordshire Entrepenaurs  - www.herts.ac.uk

Helen Jones - Red and Blue - www.redandblue.co.uk

Deji Osobukola - Fame Entertainment - www.fameonline.co.uk

 

Herts Woman

WINNER: Karen Moxom - ANLP International CIC

Other Finalists:

Baroness Ashton

Syeda Momotaz Rahim

Ingrid Marson - Acorn PR - www.acornpr.org.uk

 

Judges Award

WINNER: NA Associates - www.na-associates.co.uk

Other Finalists:

The Women's Society Boutique - www.womens-society.co.uk

Company of the Year

WINNER: Turners Cleaning & Support Services - www.turnerscleaning.co.uk